Installing a topper - TTORA Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 11:17 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Installing a topper

I just bought a used ARE z-series topper and have never installed on before. I want to get it as water tight as possible and won't be removing it. Its the clamp set up. (04 double cab)

My question is should I just lay some foam tape on the top rail and then topper and clamp down? windshield caulk?

Is hooking up the third brake light difficult and how?
Tmorrison is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 11:51 AM
Veteran Member
 
TacoCrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tmorrison
I just bought a used ARE z-series topper and have never installed on before. I want to get it as water tight as possible and won't be removing it. Its the clamp set up. (04 double cab)

My question is should I just lay some foam tape on the top rail and then topper and clamp down? windshield caulk?

Is hooking up the third brake light difficult and how?
The "camper top" foam tape can be laid either on the bed rail or on the top itself, usually a quality version is sufficient enough to seal..If you plan to leave it on permantly you may want to caulk it, but I'd try the foam tape route first..

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAR_Squid79 View Post
If you want to know if a trail is too hard - GO WHEEL IT! If your truck breaks, or you die - it was too hard.


PICTURES!!
MORE PICS!!
Photobucket password is: Tacoma
*'97 Std cab V-6
*Aussie locked front
*E-locked rear 4.88's
*35" Baja MTZs
*Warn M8000S
*Lots of armor..
TacoCrazy is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 03:46 PM
Veteran Member
 
Trevor 3blacktoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States of Socialism (PNW)
Posts: 1,088
10-4 on the foam tape........should seal fine....
fyi-If you do plan on taking it on/off on a regular bassis........I found it easy to mount some hooks in the rafters in the garage and then use some 2x6's (2) on each end w/ adjustable tie downs on all 4 corners.......you can take on/off in about 20min. by yourself......
Trevor

Quote:
The government is like a baby's alimentary canal, with a happy appetite at one end and no responsibility at the other.
-Ronald Reagan
If you believe in our 2nd amendment, please consider helping us keep it http://membership.nrahq.org/
Trevor 3blacktoys is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 07:36 PM
Member
 
qball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fallbrook, Ca
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tmorrison
I just bought a used ARE z-series topper and have never installed on before. I want to get it as water tight as possible and won't be removing it. Its the clamp set up. (04 double cab)

My question is should I just lay some foam tape on the top rail and then topper and clamp down? windshield caulk?

Is hooking up the third brake light difficult and how?
The third brake light is pretty easy, you tap into the taillight assembly and splice into the brake light wire, took me like 5 minutes total.
qball is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2005, 09:14 PM
Member
 
oregonmoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 32
Is there a place in the taillight assembly to tap in for the overhead light in the canopy?
oregonmoss is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-18-2005, 09:14 AM
Member
 
qball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fallbrook, Ca
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by oregonmoss
Is there a place in the taillight assembly to tap in for the overhead light in the canopy?
I don't think you want to do that unless you want to have to turn your lights on to use the overhead. I have run the overhead light yet, haven't had a need for it. YOu probably want to run it into the engine compartment and into the fuse block.
qball is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-18-2005, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Tatunka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 131
There is a hole in the rear of the bed under the bed rail that you can put your wires through (drivers side). Ditto on the hooking the overhead to the fuse block or just wire it to a +12 and turn it off when you aren't using it. I bought a extra fuse block that mounts in the engine compartment to run my lights and other stuff off of, no more spaghetti in the fuse box.

04 DC TRD, Hoes with 9 leaf Deavers, 255/85's
73 FJ40

Check it out MNTOYx4's
Tatunka is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-19-2005, 12:56 AM
Member
 
oregonmoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 32
Thanks for the info. This board is great.
oregonmoss is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-20-2005, 09:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In a house.
Posts: 29
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tmorrison
I just bought a used ARE z-series topper and have never installed on before. I want to get it as water tight as possible and won't be removing it. Its the clamp set up. (04 double cab)

My question is should I just lay some foam tape on the top rail and then topper and clamp down? windshield caulk?

Is hooking up the third brake light difficult and how?
-Put the foam on the canopy if you plan to remove the top from time to time.

-Sometimes you need to double the tape on the front lip and about three inches down the sides. Try to use one piece of tape for each layer. (ie: first piece wrapping just the front, second piece wrapping the whole thing from rear corner to rear corner) try to wrap the corners, force the tape to bend, snipping off the inside portions that bunch up when you bend it........dont snip off too much, just enough so when you push it down the edges meet (ideally).......................OR .............

-Go to a canopy shop and see what type of 'mounting seals' they have. My Innovation has a rubber / neoprene(?) type of molded seal which seems very good. It is glued to the bottom of the cap with contact cement...........................OR.........

-Look into garage door seals (for along the ground / door contact)....I'm not sure but I think this type of seal is the same as I have on my topper.

-Sometimes a third clamp per side (middle) helps.

-Not all leaks are from the base rail. Tighten up the window screws...EASY don't strip 'em. If the windows don't have putty tape they can often be easily removed and retaped. OR you could just silicone the heck out of 'em.

I used to build / install canopies............my current one leaks through the door seal though

Oh yeah........what do you folk out there call it?..........canopy, topper, cap ...other?

Last edited by aquacryptid; 06-20-2005 at 10:00 PM.
aquacryptid is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-21-2005, 02:41 AM
Member
 
oregonmoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 32
If you go for a used canopy be aware the extended cab and standard cab rear profiles are NOT the same. The standard cab is vertical while the extended has some curve to it. I got a screaming deal on ebay on a Leer canopy off an extended cab that matched my paint, but it doesn't fit my standard cab. It fits enough to keep using it, but not enough for me to constantly be annoyed by it.
oregonmoss is offline  
Reply
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TTORA Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Topper anyone? Tatunka Parts/Electronics/Wheels/Tires 11 10-31-2005 09:32 PM
Quick Questions a/b Installing Shackles StemsCornfedTaco Suspension 3 05-25-2005 10:02 PM
CB antenna mount w/ bed topper... Outback Interior/Electrical/Electronics 11 04-23-2005 03:30 PM
FS: Topper, or Camper (whatever you want to call it) tacopie Parts/Electronics/Wheels/Tires 11 03-07-2005 04:10 PM
Century Ultra truck topper... Outback Early Tacoma Tech 5 03-03-2005 09:58 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome