Wheelin' a Stick Shift - TTORA Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-24-2005, 08:11 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via Yahoo to JeeBar
Wheelin' a Stick Shift

I recently got an '05 DoubleCab 4x4 with the 6-speed manual tranny. I got it and love it mostly because I like driving a stick shift on the street. I've only been offroad a few times--in the '01 Tacoma DC I used to have--which obviously had an automatic since that's all that was available.

I'm wondering what the experience/upside/downside of a stickshift will be on the trail. I've heard some people say it's better, but frankly it seems like it'll be a MAJOR pain in the ass managing a clutch while negotiating uneven uphill terrain. What should I expect? Any tips or tricks for not lookin' like a total noob my first time out on a run?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-24-2005, 08:18 PM
Veteran Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeeBar
I recently got an '05 DoubleCab 4x4 with the 6-speed manual tranny. I got it and love it mostly because I like driving a stick shift on the street. I've only been offroad a few times--in the '01 Tacoma DC I used to have--which obviously had an automatic since that's all that was available.

I'm wondering what the experience/upside/downside of a stickshift will be on the trail. I've heard some people say it's better, but frankly it seems like it'll be a MAJOR pain in the ass managing a clutch while negotiating uneven uphill terrain. What should I expect? Any tips or tricks for not lookin' like a total noob my first time out on a run?
Automatics are nice for rock crawling, but I will always own manual tranny rigs. Put a crawler in there and nobody will know you are a noob.

Later,
....Mike
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-24-2005, 08:27 PM