: 4HI and 4LO

SilverStreak05
06-06-2005, 12:46 AM
Let me preface this message by saying that I've never had a 4 wheel drive truck, so I'm pretty clueless about how stuff is supposed to function. I was out messing around with the 4HI and 4LO settings, just to see what it was like. 4HI drove pretty much like I expected, not much different than 2HI. I dropped it down into 4LO and it was really slow to accelerate and shifted between gears really quick. I stopped, dropped it down into 1st gear, and it would barely move at all, almost like a slipping clutch (mine is auto). Just wondering if all this is normal? Sorry for the ignorant question, but like I said I'm a total noob still trying to figure stuff out.

BLOWNYOTA
06-06-2005, 12:51 AM
To put it in short. Its like riding your 26 speed moutain bike in the lowest gear "granny". it allows the speed to be much more controlled and in the powerband in rough terrain, therefore making it easier to negotiate in certain applications. 4 high is your normal street gears but with 4wd. AKA higher speed use, or snow.

hytenor
06-06-2005, 01:36 PM
Let me preface this message by saying that I've never had a 4 wheel drive truck, so I'm pretty clueless about how stuff is supposed to function. I was out messing around with the 4HI and 4LO settings, just to see what it was like. 4HI drove pretty much like I expected, not much different than 2HI. I dropped it down into 4LO and it was really slow to accelerate and shifted between gears really quick. I stopped, dropped it down into 1st gear, and it would barely move at all, almost like a slipping clutch (mine is auto). Just wondering if all this is normal? Sorry for the ignorant question, but like I said I'm a total noob still trying to figure stuff out.

please tell us that you didn't do all of this on pavement.

read the owner's manual.

SilverStreak05
06-06-2005, 11:19 PM
No, I didn't do it on the pavement.