: How do you test your flex at home?


vwfastg60
11-03-2008, 07:45 AM
Axles on and i wanted to see how it flexed out and see where i needed shock hoops. Anyways I used the engine hoist and ran out of room for a full flex. My hoist is not the best and the chains were kinda long but still i couldnt get a tire to think about pulling up...What do you use to flex out your rig? I need some ideas.

Quick Draw
11-03-2008, 07:49 AM
I've driven up on top of a big pile of tires...:D But that only works when you have about 4 sets of tires laying around...

thefatkid
11-03-2008, 08:53 AM
Use a crappy wheel and a highlift with the wheel adapters. When I had my slinky truck I maxed out a 60".

ike
11-03-2008, 09:19 AM
you will never get the full flex potential out of it other than by driving it up on something. Need the motor torque to see what it is going to do to the springs:2cents:

devinsixtyseven
11-03-2008, 09:45 AM
Testing for full travel, or trail flex?

If the first, pull the packs apart on the end you're testing, reinstall with only the main leaf and some blocks of wood or something as thick as the rest of the pack, use a jack or whatever to bring up one side while the other hangs. Truck's obviously gotta be on stands for this.

Otherwise, find a ditch, or a shop with a ramp, or a loading dock with a ramp, or a hill or something.

00regcab
11-03-2008, 12:04 PM
Ramp that POS lumina out front? :D :p

If it doesnt drive then, maybe someone with a winch, and snatch block off of one of the rafter/roof supports, then pull it up by the wheel/hub area?

Volcom
11-03-2008, 02:12 PM
Luck for me, they were digging the basement next door to my house. I used the big ass dirt pile to flex on to check for bumpstop mounting in the front.

http://www.rockfrogs.org/Pictures/AE/buildup/166.JPG

http://www.rockfrogs.org/Pictures/AE/buildup/167.JPG

While fitting my 40's, I drove about a mile to a friend's shop and used his forklift
http://www.volcom.arlojeep.com/tires/026.JPG

http://www.volcom.arlojeep.com/tires/023.JPG

RedRunnertc
11-03-2008, 03:42 PM
I used Matt's bobcat at the HOW-S ... unfortunately, it didn't have enough ass to lift my heavy beast all the way.

vwfastg60
11-03-2008, 07:18 PM
I think im going be making it drive so i can use the lumina....If its around. I guess i have that dirtpile too.

I think i could put the boom out farther on the hoists too.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v147/vwfastg60/11-02-08_21592.jpg

Lysmachia
11-03-2008, 08:02 PM
Still a good test Russ!

RedRunnertc
11-03-2008, 08:53 PM
That should be plenty flexed out for you to see the clearance issues.