: First things first!

McCannon
06-23-2005, 10:00 AM
Okay before I get to my question I'm sure this has been covered numerous times but I havent been able to find.

I am very new to 4x4ing and am wondering what order I need to install mods as I can afford them. I'm thinking probably a 3-3.5 inch lift, brush guards, Off road tires and rims, protective plates......

I wish to do moderate off roading a couple times a month, and will be mostly using the vehicle as a daily driver. I will keep my street rims and tires and switch out with the off roads when I want to go have fun that way I compromise my street driving as little as possible.

Current setup: stock 2005 TRD Sport V6 Acc cab 4x4 with 6-speed man trans. See truck here....My introduction (http://www.tacomaterritory.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12114)

So what do I do first? Second?.....thanks for being patient and understanding...

themariachi
06-23-2005, 10:26 AM
1. adjustable coilovers, leaf pack, rear shocks
2. tires, wheels
3. body protection as needed

search for lots of good stuff

McCannon
06-23-2005, 10:54 AM
1. adjustable coilovers, leaf pack, rear shocks
2. tires, wheels
3. body protection as needed

search for lots of good stuff

I assumed with a leaf pack that I'd need shocks for both front and rear. Is that incorrect?

themariachi
06-23-2005, 11:18 AM
I assumed with a leaf pack that I'd need shocks for both front and rear. Is that incorrect?
yes...but that's what the coilovers are for...(i.e. front lift)
do a search for danahoe, swayaway (SAWs), kings, or camburg.
you will need extended rear shocks for the rear with the leaf pack
do a search for deaver and you will find some good stuff

McCannon
06-23-2005, 11:24 AM
man you guys need a page on the site with just common definitions. ;)
Thanks for the help.

McCannon
06-23-2005, 12:00 PM
yes...but that's what the coilovers are for...(i.e. front lift)
do a search for danahoe, swayaway (SAWs), kings, or camburg.