: Newb on lift trip...

McCannon
07-08-2005, 09:10 AM
I'm looking to lift my 05 taco 2-3". I am Extremely new to this and whenever I ask questions here I end up with more questions then I started with. I am fairly handy around the shop but don't have a bunch of specialized tools or any welders.
My problem is that I wouldn't know what all to get for a lift or how involved the installation may be. So I believe my best bet would be to get a full kit. I was looking at this:http://www.demello-offroad.com//catalog/product_info.php?cPath=27_25_30&products_id=88&osCsid=c8cec9f7d0cd978f61a1dd949dd4fca7 with the "front HD bilsteins shocks for 189.00 a pair replace your shackles with Deavers 3 leaf add pack add 80.00 to the order." option.

Is this a decent deal and how involved is an installation like this? Anyone else offer somthing better for not too much more $$? I'm trying to keep this around 1k or less.

Sorry for the dumb questions but please remember this is newbie tech..... :cool:

zosimov21
07-08-2005, 03:09 PM
Demello would definately get a nod from people here. If you just wanted a cheaper spacer and AAL option toytech has options for 05 model trucks
http://www.toyteclifts.com/Basic05.html

shortbus
07-08-2005, 04:20 PM
Well I have some questions for you prior to being able to properly answer your question.
1. What kinda wheeling you planning on doing?
2. Is ride quality very important?
3. What is your budget?

McCannon
07-09-2005, 08:43 AM
I'm trying to keep this around 1k or less.

Around $1,000. ;) I am not the rock crawler type but I like to go out a couple times a month on and would like to be able to do medium difficulty trails.....This is also my daily driver and my wife and I go on long trips so ride is pretty important also. The truck is two weeks old and I already have some scratches on the underside of the back bumper and ripped off my trailer light plug (have the tow package...looking for a different place to put the plug)