: Replacing A-arms

TRD Taco
07-16-2005, 10:20 AM
I'm new to the 4x4 world and am looking for a 3" lift. One of the questions that I have is what is the advantage of replacing the a-arms and is it worth it? I mostly drive my taco on the street but do take it off road whenever I have the chance. Nothing too severe but I have scraped the stock truck already so I want something to get it off the trail a little more. It looks like replacing the a-arms would cost me about $800 to $1,000 extra on the lift which is about as much as the lift by itself. Any help would be great. Thanks.

AJ

rojodiablo
07-16-2005, 10:45 AM
Not really necessary. But, something is. Look UP, right HERE! At the top of the screen. It says "Search". Try it, you might like it! The arms have a better roll center, and only give more travel IF you use extended coilovers.

TRD Taco
07-16-2005, 10:55 AM
I should have said I tried the search feature, with no success, which is why I posted a new thread. I could have missed something but oh well. Thanks for the response though. Sounds like replacing the a-arms isn't something necessary for a noob. Anybody else have an opinion on this?

AJ

Mike
07-16-2005, 10:58 AM
I should have said I tried the search feature, with no success, which is why I posted a new thread. I could have missed something but oh well. Thanks for the response though. Sounds like replacing the a-arms isn't something necessary for a noob. Anybody else have an opinion on this?

AJ

Take your truck out and wheel it. Then figure out what needs to be done to make it better for what you want to do.

There are lots of NorCal people to hang out with who go wheeling all the time.

Later,
....Mike

CYi5
07-16-2005, 03:16 PM
the most expensive upper control arms are Total Chaos i believe, around 650. Camburgs are around 439 and allpros 300something. As rojodiablo said, they will allow more travel when combined with an extended version of coilovers such as donahoes and now camburgs.