TTORA Forum banner

New to me FJ60!

8K views 27 replies 14 participants last post by  RCFJ40 
#1 ·
Hey everyone My name is Robert I am a newbie here and haven't really posted on TTORA that much but I think i will change now, I just picked up this 84 FJ60 today and I plan on bringing it back from the "depths" to restore it to its original glory (Plus a few extra parts:)) I have owned several Toyotas and never really had the opportunity (or money) to do anything with them but a new job brings me to a great opportunity. This FJ will be my DD/Family Expedition Vehicle. Here are a few pics.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Interrior looks nice, body looks clean, any rust? Looks like a good find and welcome to ttora. :)

#3 ·
Not too much rust, the undercarrige has the "rust flakes" but i think it will be fine I plan on taking it to rhino linings or LineX to have the underside sprayed as well as the back cargo area. The body is actually pretty rust free even in the usual areas like the tail gate so thats a plus the engine could use a tune up but I drove it 50 miles home and it got me there just fine, biggest problem is the seals on the drivetrain the rear diff leaks a bit so does the transfer case but hey is 25 years old and I got a screaming deal on it plus it will give me a chance to get familiar with the rig.

#6 ·
Ah Crap!

Well On its maiden voyage the pinion bearing decided to grenade on me good thing I was coming home from work :banghead:Took the Axle apart and found that my third member is toast so im ordering a used third member so I can get back on the road, I plan on getting a full floating axle for the rear so ill replace all the seals and bearings when the time comes. In the meantime here are a few pics of the carnage and axle. http://ttora.com/forum/member.php?u=21539#top

#8 ·