TTORA Forum banner

truck springs questions

2K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  mustangstephen 
#1 ·
Ok i have a few questions on my truck.I am new to trucks in general.My question is what kind of work can I do to my springs cheaply Maybe by taking a set out of one stuffing in mine adding more leafs I really don't know.I have a 86 truck with 81 running gear My ass end is bulldogging I already have 3 1/2 blocks in the rear I really want to un bulldog it And lift the truck another couple inches.I have been told to weld a heavy wall tube across the front of my frame and put the spring bracket back on I really dont want too (seen it done not my cup of tea)and put larger blocks in rear.So Hopefully someone can tell me some back yard tricks lol
Thanks for any and all input

#4 ·
Ok that didnt answer nothing But if I want to just throw all kinds of money at it.All I want to know can I stack more leafs to raise the ass end up and or front will it ride like a brick??Can I take leaf springs Out of another truck Tacos,prerunners,S10,ranger etc etc.Btw my truck is solid axle Not ifs And Im not into rock crawling this is my d.d. that see some fun time in woods and mud

#5 ·
First off... DO NOT weld on a block... You will screw up your truck. There is a ratio to the front pivot and the upper pivot and the length of the shackle to the spring length.
To answer your question, it gets a bit complicated... First, get rid of the damn blocks...
Second, yes, you can add more leafs to the stack. Even original equipment leafs will work to a point. But unless they are arched more... you will not be gaining lift, only payload. (simple answer to spring weight)

There really is no "cheap" way of obtaining lift out of leaf springs unless you can re-arch them yourself. You can buy or find used add a leafs like out of Old Man Emu leaf packs that will work.