: OME Lift Kit Installation Completed - Pics

sbechtold
07-17-2006, 10:17 PM
Today I received my OME lift kit from the great folks at Toyota of Dallas (aka www.fjcruiseroffroad.com and www.trdparts4u.com and www.toyotapartsales.com). Valkyrie (Chris) was awesome in helping me select the right components to meet my needs. Thank you Chris!

I took my time and completed the installation in about 4.5 hours and will have it aligned at the Toyota dealer tomorrow. I have to say that the installation was very straightforward and with the step-by-step instructions provided by Toyota of Dallas there were no hiccups. I am not a mechanic, just a person that is dangerous with tools :), and I think the install went very smooth.

I took some measurements prior to installation and afterwards. The lift kit increased the front height by 3.25" and the rear height by 2.75". The suspension will settle with time, so I plan to take more measurements in a week or so. While I haven't driven it very far yet, the ride is much better than stock. I will post more on the ride characteristics after I get it aligned and have a chance to get some in-the-seat time.

Here is a list of what I installed.

Front:
OME885 Springs
OMEN140S Struts
OME95PF5 Trim pack

Rear:
OME896 Coil springs
OMEN142 Rear shocks

I selected these specific components for the following reasons:

1) I have an ARB Bull Bar and Warn M8000 winch on my FJ already (think: +190 lbs on the front)
2) I will be purchasing a rear bumper w/tire carrier when available (think: +100 lbs on the rear)
3) I have already upgraded tires & wheels (285/70-17 MT/R's) that weigh more then stock (think: +30 lbs on the rear)
4) I will load my FJ up for extended camping trips and wanted improved cargo carrying capacity over stock
5) I use a hitch mounted dirt bike carrier to haul my CRF450R (think: +250 lbs on the rear)
6) I will probably do some towing with my FJ