: TACOMA 97 V6 LX MOD advice needed

ifly737
02-09-2005, 08:38 AM
Hey everyone!

I am newbie here on this forum. I have a 97 4X4 V6 LX extra cab with only 48K. I want to spruce it up a bit. With a budget of about $1500-$2000 what do you recommend upgrading on this truck????? My intentions are to go off-roading a couple times a month. On a scale of 1-10, 10 being the most extreme off-road driving (boulder climbing - mud bogger) and 1 being, "dang I got my tires dirty." I would rate my future driving as a #5. This truck is not a TRD model. :welder: :confused:

I would appreciate any advice from you folks to enhance my trucks abilities!!!!

SilverTaco
02-09-2005, 09:09 AM
2 1/2 in OME Lift up front with some 1 1/2 lift shackles in the rear www.wheelersoffroad.com
If you plan on adding a winch/bumper later go with some adjustable coil overs as the OME lift will sag with the extra weight...Donahoe,SAW,Fabtech are some popular brand listed from Best($950) to budget($500) with a few in between those prices.....

Also some 32 11.50 M/T preferably BFG's....they are the best on road offroad tire IMO

This will allow you do do everything you want.

ByrdDog20
02-09-2005, 11:17 AM
Sounds like you found my truck. I looked for several months for your truck, most had a jillion miles or were up in New Hampshire where I was concerned about rust. Found a great 2000 with 93k that rides and drives like new.

My 2 cents, start with a deck plate mod and maybe tires depending on where you off road. I plan on the TRD limited slip for the rear, seen it on here for $199 in the box.

Gotta wait for any more mods, as I am a displaced RJ driver.

YoTRacer158
02-09-2005, 07:34 PM