TTORA Forum banner

rack and pinion.

2K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  pitpok4x4 
#1 ·
Anybody know how much it costs to replace the rack and pinion on a 98 extended cab. I took my car in for alignment after hitting the tree and a guy told me I might have to replace the rack and pinion. Since I am a total newb I only know that it has something to do with the steering. I didn't notice any huge difference when driving other than the alignment needed to be done. Is it an absolute must to replace if it isn't badly damaged?

#3 ·
I would get a second opinion. Alot of times, the rack and pinion is mistakenly misdiagnosed as needing replacement because it "moves" or has alot of play in it when turning the steering wheel. Usually, all that means is that the bushings need to be replaced. Energy Suspension makes replacement bushings for our rack and pinions that 4x4 shops sell for about $15-$20.

If the rack really does need to be replaced, then like Jeremy said, you can sometimes find a good one for a decent price from someone on here that's ditching it in favor of converting to a solid axle front.

#4 ·
cool. thanks. I just called and told them to hold off. I will go and get a second opinion tomorrow. Another quick question. If if they don't replace it can they still do the alignment? Cause I really need the alignment done, my passenger right tire is wearing out way fast.

#5 ·
renorider40 said:
cool. thanks. I just called and told them to hold off. I will go and get a second opinion tomorrow. Another quick question. If if they don't replace it can they still do the alignment? Cause I really need the alignment done, my passenger right tire is wearing out way fast.