: Looking to buy a new 2005, A Newbie To 4x4

96redformula
03-04-2005, 03:55 PM
I am on a limited budget as I am in college and have to be able to keep my payments as low as possible. I am looking right now into getting a 2005 Tacoma Regular Cab 2.7L I4 Manual with 4x4.

Again, I have no 4x4 experience and it is a big deal here in El Paso. I would like a truck that can go out and handle a bunch of large sand dunes and some offroading, nothing major. So I just want to be able to tackle some sand dunes here and not struggle doing it. Is this truck I am looking at going to suit my needs. I realize the v6 is a better option, but it is one that I can't afford. As well as the i4 being better on gas. I am looking into a good warranty and few problems. In the future I will be looking into raising my truck, adding bigger tires, etc, but not for the time being. Any advise of anything I should be aware of?

P.S.- This is coming from a guy that owns a 12 second all bolt on Trans Am LT1. :)

Shibumi
03-04-2005, 04:18 PM
Welcome to the fun!
I just got a 05 double cab, SR5/TRD auto v-6 and I love it...
As far as dunes, etc. it MAY be more prudent to go with a 04.
The reasoning is that it will be cheaper, lighter, and they are an exceptional vehicle.
I love my 05, but Im not sure I would be comfortable with it in a I-4.
Not enough power to weight ratio for me.
Im sure I will be countered on this, but take one out for a drive and get on it getting on a freeway. Try the 04 and 05. My mileage with the V6 is 300 miles to a tank. IF I stay under 80MPH.
I also drive 90 miles roundtrip a day. For me its worth it, but at least check out all your options!
Im in college as well as working full time, so I know what your going through.
Good luck...

TACOMONSTER
03-04-2005, 09:27 PM