: Turn Signal Problems

kirk1005
02-15-2007, 09:54 PM
I am having problems with my drivers side turn signal. When my headlights are off, they work perfectly. When I turn the headlights on, the blinker light stays on in cab and both the front and rear lights stay on continuously. I have changed the bulbs, but am at a loss for what to do next. I'm not very good with vehicles, but am trying to learn. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

HoT_DoGgIN
02-15-2007, 10:43 PM
sounds to me like you have a cross somewhere... trace your positive leads between your headlights and turn signals, and see if they aren't touching/rubbing etc to the point that current can flow through both?

kirk1005
02-15-2007, 10:49 PM
Thanks, if they are, what is the fix? Thanks again.

blown4runner
02-16-2007, 12:40 PM
Thanks, if they are, what is the fix? Thanks again.
fix the wire... What is probably happening is exactly as was stated above, you have some electrical interference backfeeding into the system. Trace the wires and look for damage, signs that someone has been wiring aftermarket accessories in, anything not factory or broken in association with the circuit... then repair the wire(s) appropriately. You'll need a multimeter, EWD for that systems circuit and a basic knowledge of how electricity works to start... and maybe some extra wires, electrical tape, a set of dykes, some solder and soldering iron, etc once the problem has been found

tacotoy
02-16-2007, 07:03 PM