: broken e-brake cable


yldturke101
09-25-2007, 06:59 PM
I've got a little issue with pulling the parking brake handle out to re-attach the cable. the cable broke right at the end of the post that is connected to the handle. the bracket that is holding the cable wheel and light/sensor has a regular bolt on one side and a flat bolt on the side behind the gas pedal. That is all that I am seeing to somehow release the post to try and re-attach the cable. If any of you know something I don't (which more than likely you do!) please let me know. It's a 96 taco. thanks Matt

WVUgeoROK
10-30-2007, 11:29 PM
http://www.tacomaterritory.com/forum/showthread.php?t=74383&highlight=parking+brake+cable

Mine broke this past weekend at the HOW. The link above is pretty good for a starting point. My problem thus far has been where to get the replacement cable. The dealer has them in stock and will sell them at the parts window but they are ~70$ from them. This website:

http://www.trademotion.com/partlocator/index.cfm?action=searchCatalogOEM&siteid=214074

has them for a lot less including shipping - the part no from Toyota is 46410-35400. I called NAPA and they have several types in stock but none that match the factory number - so I am trying to get the spec length from the Toyota dealership to see if NAPA has one the same length in stock.

Good Luck!

RedRunnertc
10-30-2007, 11:48 PM
Did you try Toyota of Dallas, www.trdparts4u.com ?

tallsailor
10-31-2007, 12:20 AM
I am trying to remember how I released mine... (96 taco also, broke in the same spot)

I think: you unbolt the sensor and let it hang and then there is a latch on the handle end of the assembly, right behind the plastic that makes up the dash, etc. I think this latch is part of a spring assembly. (OK, shored up the broken collar bone and went out side to grope up my truck) Yup, there is a latch on the top of the assembly that the tube slides through. You have to push it one direction until it releases the handle to push forward an extra 1/4 of an inch. then you will be able to slide the post out. it was a REAL bugger to do. I haven't bothered to pay to buy the replacement for mine yet, so I haven't done a reinstall, but I intend to just remove the pully and pass the post up and reinsert it into the tube. there are bolts on the handle end of the assembly, but they are buried up behind the plastic, if I remember right. seemed impossible to get a wrench/socket on.

This was a total ramble. If it helps, great, if it doesn't, just ignore it!

John

WVUgeoROK
12-03-2007, 02:18 PM
The hardest part is getting the handle unboted on the inside of the engine compartment (just left of the steering column if looking in engine compartment from front of vehicle)- it is in a really difficult place to get to. Other than that I unscrewed the lower half of the dash panel to make it easier to get the e-brake assy out. It is damn near impossible to feed the new 'bead' end of the brake cable over the pulley with it in place so I took everything out to make it easier.

WVUgeoROK
12-03-2007, 09:48 PM
As a side note - if you are having trouble connecting the new cable under the steering column (new cable too tight and thus short) use a pair of pliers to prop the cable in the lock position back at the 'Y' junction in front of the rear tires = more room in cab.

yldturke101
01-12-2008, 09:33 PM
Thanks for the help. I am still trying to find something cheap at the yards.

TowerRigger
01-14-2008, 09:12 PM
This is how I'd splice two cables if you have to. If the cable is 1/8 inch or bigger. Use Crosby clipshttp://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x192/coonclimb/450.jpg that corrispond with the size of the cable. Put them on the cable as shown in the picture below. Put at least one lay
http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x192/coonclimb/14018_142_3.jpg
between each Crosby. If You use 1/8 Crosbys tighten them to 4.5 ft. lbs. of torque. Use ten because it's your truck for Christ sakes. You don't want it to roll down a hill because you didn't use enough Crosbys. The minimum number of Crosbys you could use for 1/8 cable in this application is 4. If you have any other cable needs go to www.thecrosbygroup.com . Remember never saddle a dead horse.
http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x192/coonclimb/cablesplice.jpg

TowerRigger
01-14-2008, 09:37 PM
Oh another usefull tip. Here's the right and wrong way to measure wire cable.
http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x192/coonclimb/14018_142_1.jpg