TTORA Forum banner

Land Cruiser Reliablity?

4K views 18 replies 16 participants last post by  BurritosDaddy 
#1 ·
I am new to LC's but want to get one for my wife. Since they are so friggin expensive i'm looking at used. Really used. I have heard 93+ years are preferred because of the 4.5liter. I know it's a toyota & that they are built like a freight train but how's the powertrain on these things. Assuming the owner beforehand took care of it......should I be afraid of 150k? How miles can be racked up before problems start occuring? I am not looking to wheel it.....more of a passenger hauler:eek: I intend on putting bigger shoes on it though......How large can be stuffed before running into problems?
Thanks

#3 ·
I had a 95 FZJ80 LC with 217K when I sold it and it drove like it was new. Just check em out good and be prepared to maintenance the front ends (i.e. brakes, seals, ect.) due to the full-time 4WD and how heavy the truck is...

#4 ·
my mom still has her 95 fj80. she's been very unlucky and has had numerous problems. it only has 139,000 miles. we bought it at 50,000 miles. so far the a/c condenser broke, and leaked out into the passenger side, makes a funny noise also. idle positioning sensor is wacky. it burned oil like crazy, but i think we may have fixed that after we redid the valve seals. it has left her stranded on the side of the road 2 times because of an electrical problem with the ecu. the brakes also seem to be extremely problematic. very spongy, no matter what u do. we have replaced every single component on the brake system, and still is very spongy, and very shitty braking. i sware if she has one other problem with that thing, im gonna rip out her front axle so i can sas my taco and send that heep to the junk yard.

#5 ·