TTORA Forum banner

65 FJ40 transfer case

10K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  landcruiser731 
#1 ·
I just picked up a 65 FJ40. It's got a sbc350 and th350 with the stock transfer case. I have searched all over and can't seem to find much info. as far as the strength of this case. I've read that some people prefer the later cases because of stronger materials but that they're more prone to crack and leak than the earlier ones. Anyway, the plan is to run 37" tires with a narrowed 60 front and 14bolt rear. Also, It looks like there is a vacuum system used to operate the xfer case and I cant find any info. on it. I am new to cruisers and the previous owner didn't even know how to shift it into 4wd for sure.
It looks like AA makes a twin stick for it which would eliminate all the linkage and lever on the dash. Any info. will be greatly appreciated! My last vehicle was a Cherokee. After messing around with that unibody for so long, the FJ will be downright fun to work on as far as the fabwork aspect of it!

#4 ·
the thing is about these cases are they have been known to crack but there is a bracet you can buy called a case saver that will provent cracking or you can get an orion case which uses a few pieces out of the stock case to build a stronger case.....you can read about it on AA site
'
http://72.20.96.178/commerce/ccc1315-orion-transfer-case.htm

#5 ·
the FJ40 case wasn't particularly strong . Deep gearing and big tire can do them in. Since your're using a 14 bolt you have other options. You can leave
the pumpkin centered and use an Atlas or even a Dana 300 (2.62 reduction stock with available gearsets to 4.0 ). If you wish to build an offset axle go with the FJ60 transfer, it is twice as strong as the fj40 or at least the Orion which is built around the Toyota FJ40 cast iron case that wasn't available in the USA.