: Wheelin' a Stick Shift

JeeBar
04-24-2005, 08:11 PM
I recently got an '05 DoubleCab 4x4 with the 6-speed manual tranny. I got it and love it mostly because I like driving a stick shift on the street. I've only been offroad a few times--in the '01 Tacoma DC I used to have--which obviously had an automatic since that's all that was available.

I'm wondering what the experience/upside/downside of a stickshift will be on the trail. I've heard some people say it's better, but frankly it seems like it'll be a MAJOR pain in the ass managing a clutch while negotiating uneven uphill terrain. What should I expect? Any tips or tricks for not lookin' like a total noob my first time out on a run?

Mike
04-24-2005, 08:18 PM
I recently got an '05 DoubleCab 4x4 with the 6-speed manual tranny. I got it and love it mostly because I like driving a stick shift on the street. I've only been offroad a few times--in the '01 Tacoma DC I used to have--which obviously had an automatic since that's all that was available.

I'm wondering what the experience/upside/downside of a stickshift will be on the trail. I've heard some people say it's better, but frankly it seems like it'll be a MAJOR pain in the ass managing a clutch while negotiating uneven uphill terrain. What should I expect? Any tips or tricks for not lookin' like a total noob my first time out on a run?

Automatics are nice for rock crawling, but I will always own manual tranny rigs. Put a crawler in there and nobody will know you are a noob. :D

Later,
....Mike

snowjerm
04-24-2005, 08:27 PM
I wheel with a stick,and feel like I have more control over what I am doing. Just remember not to hold the clutch down while slowing and breaking on rough terrain. The open clutch is not good to be rattling around.

AK98Taco
04-24-2005, 08:34 PM
One tip for getting started on steep hills, if you have to stop: