: Bumpers

RedneckYuppyCrawler
03-28-2008, 12:45 AM
OK so I know I'm a newb but what do you think about the All-Pro front bumber with the SmittyBuilt XRC 8. First it seems like the All-Pro is a pretty solid set up but is it a bolt on set up, or a weld? Second the XRC 8 from what I have allready read, the price is definitely right but is it really worth a sh*t? I mean it is rated for 8000# and my truck is unter 2tons but I really don't the ins and out of a good winch.

AxleIke
03-28-2008, 12:56 AM
All pro is okay. They seem to hold up well. Others will chime in on their own personal experience.

As for winches, only one company: Warn.

Others will disagree. I understand budget, I really do. But I always advise people to save a few extra pennies, and get the best. No one ever does, but its what I advise.

RedRunnertc
03-28-2008, 09:15 AM
There are a number of bumpers out there for your truck in a variety of styles, look around at Demello, CBI, etc. In the end, I went custom with mine because it was the only way to get everything I wanted - front receiver, max approach angle, air storage, etc.

x2 on Warn.

Seriously though, with the way your truck is setup, an 8000 lb winch isn't enough (assuming you have those giant tires to run trails that REQUIRE giant tires) There have been a number of occassions where we have been working Molly's 9.5ti hard even double lined.

With an 8k winch, you will need to double line pull almost every time and that will make the already glacial line speed of the XRC8 twice as bad.

Blowntaco
03-28-2008, 09:35 AM
I love my All-Pro front bumper

mrdoug
03-28-2008, 09:48 AM
FWIW... I just picked up a BadLand bumper.. it's similar to the all pro. Bolt on with some minor trimming. It's pretty stout and offers a winch mount that's 3/16" thick.

AxleIke
03-28-2008, 10:37 AM