CB tuning help - TTORA Forum
Toyota Territory Off-Roaders AssociationToyota Territory Off-Roaders Asso
ciationToyota Territory Off-Roaders Association
     


Go Back   TTORA Forum > Regional Forums > By State > SoCal > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Welcome to the TTORA Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

ATTENTION: In an on-going effort to keep this forum spam free, the Forum Admin approves every new account before giving any posting rights to new users. Accounts are normally approved within 24 hours. Sorry for any inconvenience, but verification of every new account is what will continue to keep this forum spam free.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2012, 11:48 AM   #1
LBchico98
Senior Member
 
LBchico98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 170
Default CB tuning help

ive installed my cb awhile back but never got around to tuning it. Im running a 4' firestick tunable tip with a uniden pro 520xl.

I really wanted to attend the wrench tech ll event but i just couldnt get my shift covered at work....If your in the LA OC IE SD ventura area and your available on a tuesday, wed, or thurs and you think you can lend a hand then lemme know. im willing to drive to you and pay a couple of bucks for the time and help. Thanks!
__________________
98 Tacoma 2.7L 5 spd. Ext cab 4x4
LBchico98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2012, 11:32 PM   #2
ShowStop
Member Dismemberer
 
ShowStop's Avatar
 
My Rig: 95.5 Tacoma
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 16,874
Send a message via Yahoo to ShowStop
Default

You going to the Calico trip next weekend?
ShowStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 10:35 AM   #3
LBchico98
Senior Member
 
LBchico98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShowStop View Post
You going to the Calico trip next weekend?
yes ill be thier friday night but if not, early saturday morning
__________________
98 Tacoma 2.7L 5 spd. Ext cab 4x4
LBchico98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 04:37 PM   #4
ShowStop
Member Dismemberer
 
ShowStop's Avatar
 
My Rig: 95.5 Tacoma
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 16,874
Send a message via Yahoo to ShowStop
Default

I'm already bringing some stuff to do radio work, so I can bring my SWR meter to dial in the antenna.
ShowStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:52 AM   #5
LBchico98
Senior Member
 
LBchico98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 170
Default

alright cool, sorry if this is a stupid question, but is it just the antenna that will need to be tuned or will the cb aswell? and is it necessary to ground the antenna coax? i have not done that yet as you can see in the pic
__________________
98 Tacoma 2.7L 5 spd. Ext cab 4x4
LBchico98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 03:56 PM   #6
rivethead242
Veteran Member
 
rivethead242's Avatar
 
My Rig: 04 Tacoma
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vista, Ca
Posts: 1,423
Default

Sorry for the thread jack. Tyler, where were you looking up info on specific CB models for "peak and tweak". It would be nice to remove the power limitations, but don't feel like taking my dash apart this weekend to do so.
__________________
My Build
Wheeln vids
rivethead242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 05:01 PM   #7
ShowStop
Member Dismemberer
 
ShowStop's Avatar
 
My Rig: 95.5 Tacoma
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 16,874
Send a message via Yahoo to ShowStop
Default

I have a bunch of books with the info for much of the legacy radios. Newer radios sometimes use the same older specs, but if I don't have it, I often go to www.radiomods.co.nz/cbsite.html or a couple other lesser known sites to find the info.
ShowStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 05:01 PM   #8
ShowStop
Member Dismemberer
 
ShowStop's Avatar
 
My Rig: 95.5 Tacoma
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 16,874
Send a message via Yahoo to ShowStop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LBchico98 View Post
alright cool, sorry if this is a stupid question, but is it just the antenna that will need to be tuned or will the cb aswell? and is it necessary to ground the antenna coax? i have not done that yet as you can see in the pic
The mount is bolted or screwed to the bed, so it is already grounded.
ShowStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:50 PM   #9
rivethead242
Veteran Member
 
rivethead242's Avatar
 
My Rig: 04 Tacoma
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vista, Ca
Posts: 1,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShowStop View Post
I have a bunch of books with the info for much of the legacy radios. Newer radios sometimes use the same older specs, but if I don't have it, I often go to www.radiomods.co.nz/cbsite.html or a couple other lesser known sites to find the info.
I don't imagine CB technology changing too much over the years, just need something to get the gist of it. Hopefully I have enough schooling to figure it out, if not I know who to call Thanks for the link.
__________________
My Build
Wheeln vids
rivethead242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 06:39 PM   #10
graymatter92
Senior Member
 
graymatter92's Avatar
 
My Rig: 92 YOTA PICKUP 4WD
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ONTARIO, CA
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShowStop View Post
I'm already bringing some stuff to do radio work, so I can bring my SWR meter to dial in the antenna.
Still doing cb tuning

Galaxy Note 2
graymatter92 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 01:09 AM   #11
ShowStop
Member Dismemberer
 
ShowStop's Avatar
 
My Rig: 95.5 Tacoma
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 16,874
Send a message via Yahoo to ShowStop
Default

Yup, I still have all my equipment.
ShowStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 12:41 PM   #12
Dick Foster
Veteran Member
 
Dick Foster's Avatar
 
My Rig: 95.5 Tacoma
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nevada City, NorCal
Posts: 12,427
Default

But from the looks of it not so well since it's a lined bed.

It would be worthwhile to add some braid and terminal ends from the mount to a good bare metal area on the bed and from the bed to the frame, cab etc. You can't count on bed bolts and such being such great conductors of RF as they have a way of getting loose and they often include rubber washers etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShowStop View Post
The mount is bolted or screwed to the bed, so it is already grounded.
__________________
I admit to being Crazy but I'm not Stupid
Dick Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CB Tuning? 88RunnerMike General Discussions 8 07-06-2010 08:52 AM
Tuning 7th flip512 Performance/Engine/Exhaust 0 11-14-2007 07:42 AM
help tuning in So Cal danred760 Performance/Engine/Exhaust 1 07-12-2006 05:57 PM
Need help tuning urd kit and s/c. Digger33 General Discussions 14 07-01-2006 04:00 PM
tuning URD NorCalTRD Off Topic 0 02-05-2006 11:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.