TTORA Forum banner

Power Steering Cooler

4K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  one_lastword 
#1 ·
Well after blowing 2 power steering pumps in a month, first by excessive heating and the 2nd was a combination of excessive heating and my own stupidity, I have decided I want to add a power steering cooler.

My question to you guys is which one to use. The two main styles I see are the tube and fin style, similar to a radiator, and the heat sink style, looks like extruded aluminum.

I have no experience with aftermarket coolers of any kind so I was hoping someone with prior knowledge will chime in and shed some light on my confusion.

Ideally I'm looking to spend no more than $150, I feel like that is enough to get a relatively nice cooler and hopefully solve my problems.

Thanks,

-Joseph

#2 ·
Did you clean out the filter screen inside the pump reservoir when you replaced the pump? If you didn't, that's starving the new pump for fluid and will burn it up quick.

Putting an inline filter into the return hose will help save the new pump from the debris left in the system from the oil pump failing.

I put a ps cooler scavenged from a mid 90's chevy truck in front of the condenser and just behind and below the bumper beam. The hoses fit through the hole the A/C lines pass through.

I would have preferred to use the trans cooler off of a 2nd gen explorer, but I didn't have any handy. I cooked my pump to failure, but with the cooler it seems to work most of the time. Every now and then it quits, but a quick blip of the throttle and the steering is back. I need to take the pump apart and see if I can clean the flow control valve and flip the vanes.

#4 ·
I just started running a heat sink style one, its the small one that Howe makes. Mounted it so that it gets fresh air from the front of the truck. Nice thing about the heat sink style ones is they do not restrict flow and most of the times they add more volume to the system.