TTORA Forum banner

3rz rear main seal

23K views 36 replies 13 participants last post by  ShowStop 
#1 ·
Well guys,

I discovered today that I have a leaking rear main seal on my '97 3rz 4runner. Has any one attempted this fix on their 3rz or can point me in the way of a thread on how to change it? I'm a fairly competent weekend mechanic but this is project that will require me to drop the tranny to fix which I'm a bit nervous about.

The rig is 4wd and has 150k miles on it. If I have to take it somewhere to fix, I'm guessing its not going to be cheap thus I'm kicking around the idea of selling it for a newer, lower mileage 3rd gen.

Any thoughts are welcome. Thanks!!!

#3 ·
Well if you aren't confident I wouldn't recommend it. Its basically dropping the transmission, unbolting the flywheel - change seal - then reassemble. It should take a shop maybe 2 hours at the most so that's like $220 + the seal which should be like $20-$25 or close to that. I'm not sure what your exhuast system looks like cause that could slow things down... mine was a single exhuast off to one side so it wasn't an issue.

I wouldn't pay a shop more than $300 to do the work. Shops usually tell people $600-$700 for a new clutch replacement. So with the clutch and flywheel being about $300 and a couple hours work that's where that price comes from. I could do it in under an hour no problem if I used a lift. While it's off I would recommend a new clutch kit if you haven't dont that before. If a new clutch is put in make sure the mechanic replaces the pilot bearing which comes with the kit - and shows you the old one so you can see it. It's too easy to just say that they did it. If they have the right tool it's super easy but most of them don't have a proper bearing puller that isn't broken. I've dropped my trans out a few times so I know exactly what it takes. :D

#4 ·