use of stock switches? - TTORA Forum
Toyota Territory Off-Roaders AssociationToyota Territory Off-Roaders Asso
ciationToyota Territory Off-Roaders Association
     


Go Back   TTORA Forum > General Tech > Interior/Electrical/Electronics
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Welcome to the TTORA Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

ATTENTION: In an on-going effort to keep this forum spam free, the Forum Admin approves every new account before giving any posting rights to new users. Accounts are normally approved within 24 hours. Sorry for any inconvenience, but verification of every new account is what will continue to keep this forum spam free.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2005, 10:00 PM   #1
Ljaybo
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11
Default use of stock switches?

Hey all, I am getting ready to wire up some fog lights ( hella 550 ) and I noticed that when I pulled the stock cover for the fog, rear diff lock and coneverter that although I dont have the components, ( the truck is base ), that there are wires to each switch! Where do these go if the options arent there? Can I use these wires to run to a relay for whatever? I know Ill have to put in my own switch but it sure would make life easier if I could just tap into the perspective fuse to run power and use factory wires to juice the relay. Has anyone done this. I did search but all you guys seem to have gone with the loaded TRD. I know I should have to but I dont offroad enough to justify the exspense and just wanted Toyota dependability.
Ljaybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2005, 10:57 PM   #2
tacotoy
Dun DUn DUN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northglenn, CO
Posts: 4,757
Default

i really doubt that those wires are in fact for those switches........ best bet is to run your own wires n your own relays. look around on summit or jc whitney for a fuse block n do it right
__________________
99 Taco with 5 inches of lift and some toys....
12 Jetta TDI with some toys coming

Quote:
Originally Posted by devinsixtyseven View Post
"don't drink and park, accidents cause people!"
tacotoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 02:19 AM   #3
Ljaybo
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Well, what would they go to? My first impression is the manufactuer runs wires from the fuse box to the appropriate switch, then if the upgrade is called for the switch is installed instead of the dummy plug. Ive popped them out and there is a plug there that would go to the real switch if installed..plug and play. They have to go to something right? Any of you electrical gurus know how I could test it? Maybe put a fuse in the slot for the factory fog lights then hook a voltmeter to the connector in the blank end and see if it gets juice? Is that the way to test. I just want a clean install. I dont mind running seperate relay and switch but sure would like to use whats already there.
Ljaybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 10:29 AM   #4
tcmaboy
Glass is for sissies
 
tcmaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tacoma WA
Posts: 606
Default

Toyota used a fairly standard body harness in the Tacomas. It costs too much to make a bunch of different harnesses. Odds are that the wires are all there. I found this out when I needed to rewire my truck. I have a 97 V6 4WD. I couldn't find one in any of the junk yards. After some searching I found a 98 4Cyl 2wd mini Taco. When I ripped the dash out the harness was the same. They just capped off the unused connectors.

I would look around for the connectors for the fog lamps. They might be there, they might not. I would find a wire diagram for your truck and chase the wires to see how far they go. I have the FSM for the 97 and earlier Tacoma, if that is the generation truck you have. There is a 2003 FSM here. You can also pick up a Haynes manual for $10. You will need a cheap multimeter to ring out the wires. You can get one for about $20 at most auto parts stores. They are handy little things to have.
__________________
Please wheel responsibly.

Tread Lightly! Tread Trainer
tcmaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 03:26 PM   #5
hk'dontoys
Veteran Member
 
hk'dontoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: pennsauken, n.j.
Posts: 551
Default

what year truck do you have? i have an 01 d/c and used switches that a member here recommended in the two knock outs by the power plugs in front of the floor shifter. the switches came in toyota packaging and are $6 bucks each. they are the same switches as in the performance products catalog for 49.00. www.rallylights.com
search fog light switch in this section and go to post "fog light switch part #?" and read replies to find the actual link.
__________________
2001 tacoma d/c, with never enough extras!

Last edited by hk'dontoys; 11-17-2005 at 03:33 PM.
hk'dontoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 04:17 PM   #6
Tweeter
Desert Moderator
 
Tweeter's Avatar
 
My Rig: Tacoma Prerunner
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,613
Send a message via AIM to Tweeter
Default



If you want to use an OEM trigger...I dunno...whatever...
Tweeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 02:50 AM   #7
tsunami982
Senior Member
 
tsunami982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego and Alhambra, CA
Posts: 292
Send a message via AIM to tsunami982 Send a message via MSN to tsunami982
Default

dont most driving/fog lights come with their own switches and relays (including fuses)? just use those. if you really want that stock clean look... buy some toyota switches and use those instead of the ones that come with your lights.
__________________
asians drive trucks too!
Tsunami982's MySpace
My Pride and Joy
tsunami982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stock Sway Bar, leafs and skids Dunk Parts/Electronics/Wheels/Tires 17 10-16-2005 05:32 PM
****2002 stock tacoma stuff**** x0ffr0adtac0x Parts/Electronics/Wheels/Tires 30 09-05-2005 11:30 AM
Significant stock suspension enhancement JBL13 Suspension 0 07-24-2005 02:41 PM
Stock Upper Control Arms, Tokico coilovers, stock exhaust. boylem002 Parts/Electronics/Wheels/Tires 5 06-19-2005 03:09 PM
stock stuff from 99 ELKTACO2 Parts/Electronics/Wheels/Tires 17 03-24-2005 08:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.