Lack of Power - TTORA Forum
Toyota Territory Off-Roaders AssociationToyota Territory Off-Roaders Asso
ciationToyota Territory Off-Roaders Association
     


Go Back   TTORA Forum > General Tech > Performance/Engine/Exhaust
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Welcome to the TTORA Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

ATTENTION: In an on-going effort to keep this forum spam free, the Forum Admin approves every new account before giving any posting rights to new users. Accounts are normally approved within 24 hours. Sorry for any inconvenience, but verification of every new account is what will continue to keep this forum spam free.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2006, 04:58 PM   #1
scottdeane
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default Lack of Power

Im running a 3in body lift and a ToyTec 3in lift with 33x12.5-16 Durango A/T's. My truck has ok power but when i hook my trailor up and put my to race quads on it, the truck turns into a turd. I have a magnaflow muffer and removed on of the cats and did the deckplate mod. Is there anything else i can besides buying a supercharger. I dont want to regear it yet till i need new tires because i want 35's. Any help would be great.
scottdeane is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2006, 05:18 PM   #2
ShowStop
Member Dismemberer
 
ShowStop's Avatar
 
My Rig: 95.5 Tacoma
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 16,965
Send a message via Yahoo to ShowStop
Default

You are already aware of your shortcomings. You need to re-gear. Look into 4.88 gears if you plan to upgrade to 35s.
__________________
Next Socal TTORA event - Snow run TBA
www.ttora-socal.com
SoCal TTORA on Facebook
ShowStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 06:42 PM   #3
scottdeane
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Where is a good place to get gears? and do i need the install kits? My local toyota deal said they would install front and rear gears for $300-$350
scottdeane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 07:23 PM   #4
WickedTaco
Senior Member
 
WickedTaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottdeane
Where is a good place to get gears? and do i need the install kits? My local toyota deal said they would install front and rear gears for $300-$350
Yes you do need install kits. 300-350 for gear install front and rear is not bad at all. Go for it...
Since when does a toyota dealer install after market gears? I am impressed with that price coming from the dealer and all.
Wow
__________________
"True greatness comes when your tested"


Last edited by WickedTaco; 08-14-2006 at 11:54 PM.
WickedTaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 07:24 PM   #5
WickedTaco
Senior Member
 
WickedTaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottdeane
Where is a good place to get gears? and do i need the install kits? My local toyota deal said they would install front and rear gears for $300-$350
Yes, you do need install kits..
__________________
"True greatness comes when your tested"

WickedTaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 11:20 PM   #6
scottdeane
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default

where is a good place to get gears and install kit. I called 4wheelparts and they said i need a different yoke and all this other stuff. it came out to be like 1100 bucks unistalled and 500 do to the front and 300 for install and i about laughed at him for the install cost. since i already had the quote from my dealership.
scottdeane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 11:58 PM   #7
ShowStop
Member Dismemberer
 
ShowStop's Avatar
 
My Rig: 95.5 Tacoma
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 16,965
Send a message via Yahoo to ShowStop
Default

Dont go to 4wp, they will sell you crappy Genuine Gears. Stick with Precision or Yukon if possible. Check with the guys at PORC for gear and install kit pricing. www.performanceoffroadcenter.com
If you have a 2002 or newer model, you will probably need a new pinion flange due to a pinion change on the newer models. PORC can tell you what you will need.

Where are you located? Zuk does some great work and he is in AZ. www.gearinstalls.com
__________________
Next Socal TTORA event - Snow run TBA
www.ttora-socal.com
SoCal TTORA on Facebook
ShowStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 01:09 PM   #8
scottdeane
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default

I live in N.W. Pa.
scottdeane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost low end power... help? bigd9247 Performance/Engine/Exhaust 9 02-27-2006 05:51 PM
tundra S/C or Turbo?? snowbunny chaser Tundra Tech 23 10-02-2005 11:04 AM
Power off timer? taugust Interior/Electrical/Electronics 4 06-30-2005 12:15 PM
No power in power steering MarzzTaco Early Tacoma Tech 4 02-28-2005 04:14 PM
Ignition On Power Sources TheChiefSinner Interior/Electrical/Electronics 5 12-30-2004 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.