4wd on the street - TTORA Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 11:09 AM Thread Starter

4wd on the street

So this is my first winter here so I'm still learning this ice driving bs. Well I was driving from denver to evergreen on Sat night and I was on 470 and got loose and spun out. I fishtailed back and forth for about 15secs and finally spun out but lucky for me the cars behind be were all stopped by then. Not sure what happened. I was in the same tire tracks as everyone else infront of me.
4runner,
5inch tg springs, 2 inch bl on old warn down bfg 33's.
I was in 2wd. would lowering my rig and getting new tires prevent this or is it just the nature of winter drivng here and I should be in 4wd on the streets on those days?
I have 4.88 gears and stock chain driven case. What's the max speed I can use 4wd on the street without fear of burning up my Tcase?
Sorry, never used 4wd on the street before in this truck b/c never needed too. Only in newer cars.
Thanks,
Alan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 11:32 AM
Veteran Member

unless you have studs in the tires, or chains on them, i dont think much will help you on the ice. i have spun out on ice in 4wd before, i think its just the nature of the beast. unfortunately you just have to slow down and take it easy.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 11:47 AM Thread Starter

So what's the max speed you guys run your 4wd in here on the street. Iknow with the conditions most people are going about 45 to 50 anyways but i was just wondering.
Thanks,
Alan
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 12:11 PM
Veteran Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALoo View Post
So what's the max speed you guys run your 4wd in here on the street. Iknow with the conditions most people are going about 45 to 50 anyways but i was just wondering.
Thanks,
Alan