Machine Shops in West Valley? - TTORA Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-31-2009, 03:24 AM Thread Starter

Machine Shops in West Valley?

Hi,

The 22R in my 86 pickup I've owned since 1993 has had a burned exhaust valve in #2 for many years. Now the head gasket has sprung a leak, so no more procrastinating.

The engine has only 116K miles, but 23 years and lots of short trips.

I'm not a mechanic, have never done any engine work like this before, and am a bit intimidated at taking this task on, especially when my driveway will be the workshop. But, I'll get through it somehow and learn in the process.

At a minimum I need a working head. I don't know what to do. Put on a used, but functional head, have mine redone, or go new? And what about the bottom? If money wasn't so tight I'd be inclined to spring for a new street/RV head from engnbldr with his 268 cam and rebuild the bottom end.

If I go with a new head and leave the bottom alone, I won't need to use a machine shop, but for other options I will. I've spent a lot of time searching and haven't been able to find recommendations for machine shops in the west valley. Any recommendations or warnings?

I'm in Glendale.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 08:56 AM
Veteran Member

H and H machine shop. 6880 West Orangewood. Glendale. Used them myself for my newer motor I built for my 4Runner 22RE. Head surface, valve job, new seals. Crankshaft, cut from .010 to .020 over. Block, clean, bore to .030 over. Everything looked brand spanking new when I picked it all up a few days later. $290. This was 5 years ago. Motor with EB rebuild kit still running flawless.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 09:08 AM
Veteran Member

Send a message via AIM to Symon623 Send a message via MSN to Symon623 Send a message via Yahoo to Symon623
Phoenix cylinder head did a couple for me...... good work.

they are off Grand and about 51st ave I think?

Sy