Home Builder Skills? - TTORA Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 11:09 AM Thread Starter
Veteran Member

Home Builder Skills?

Just a longshot feeler here, but please read on if you've got residential construction skills and experience...

We have our demo permit in-hand and are finally starting Demo of the old house and garage in prep to build the new house and garage/workshop on our lot here in Black Canyon City. The house plan drawings are still being held up, so it'll still be a few weeks or months before we get the building permit. I will be serving as my own GC/owner-builder, (with the help and advice of a couple of GC's we have in the family). We will be doing as much of the labor and skilled trades work ourselves as we can in an attempt to save money and just because we want to build as much of our home ourselves as we can. But we don't have the skills and experience to do everything. I'm a woodworker and cabinet maker so interior furniture and finish trim will be on me, but I still might need some help with the carpentry if I get behind. Also, we've already found a few specialty contractors (plumber, electrician, framer) to assist with a few of the trades -- but not all.

If anyone around here has specific builder grade trade skills and might be looking for a few days or weeks of work at some point in the coming months let me know. There might be a chance that we could put your skills to work on our new house/shop. I know its a long shot, but I'd rather hire one of my TTORA buds who I know than some stranger from the phone book. So PM me if you're a painter, drywall installer, concrete guy, grader/paver, HVAC pro, roofer or whatever - particularly if you'd be interested at some point over the coming 6 months or so in spending some days moonlighting your services to help us build the house.