HELP-4 Wheel Drive Out - TTORA Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-02-2005, 06:35 PM Thread Starter

HELP-4 Wheel Drive Out

Hey Fellow Tacoma Fans, NEWBIE here for help!

Need Assistance from anybody that can diagnose my problem with my four wheel drive! It all started out about a month ago when I went to Portsmouth Island off the Outer Banks and my battery slammed into my engine block b/c the previous owner had it secured by a rotted bungee cord... If I had only looked a little closer... Anyways, we were able to get the truck running again on the beach, 4-wheel drive off the beach, and limp back home. It fried several wires, hoses, etc. Besides that, the truck did wonderful on the beach considering the abuse we put it through! I went ahead and replaced the hoses, a new cable kit/battery harness, and an Odyssey battery.

About a week ago, I tried my four wheel drive and the light on the dash did not come on, so I just assumed the bulb was burned out in the dash. Well, my luck, a couple of days ago, my universal joint gave out on me! I figured I would remove the rear driveshaft and limp home using four-wheel drive, basically depending on my front tires... Well, I jumped in the truck, put it in four wheel drive, and nothing happened! I left the truck in gear since it wasn't going anywhere and looked underneath. The front driveshaft was spinning, so at least I knew it wasn't something wrong with my transfer case. So, I had to replace my u-joint on the spot to get back home... To get to the point, I am trying to figure out why my four wheel drive stopped working. It worked on the island after the battery incident. But, it hasn't worked after putting the new battery in and replacing the positive and negative cables. Is there a wire I may have missed when swapping batteries? The fuse is not blown. I have tried searching for this, but with no success. I have a '99 2.7L Tacoma. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
Sponsored Links