Suspension swap - TTORA Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-07-2016, 11:04 PM Thread Starter

Suspension swap

I have a 91 toyota pickup with a straight axle conversion. Has 4 inch trail gear lift and 2 inch body. Its on 35's. A lot to list on the truck. But i have just got a 94 4runner thats all stock. I wanna put the running gear off the truck to the 4runner. I have seen that the 4runner has a coil over set up in the rear. Im not sure on whats best to do. Any ideas? Just put the leaf set up on the 4runner? And will the leaf springs be able to hold up? Or leaf in front and 4 link the rear? Trying to keep it on a cheap budget. But im new to the four wheeling world. And not sure on what to do thanks.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-10-2016, 06:23 PM Thread Starter

Nothing?

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-11-2016, 04:46 PM

Any problems with 1991 4x4 with front solid axle? The cheapest thing is keep stock 4Runner stock, stock. It will cost time and some money to swap suspension parts between vehicles.

1991 Toyota XCab 4x4, 3.0 V6, LCE Performance Cold Air Intake, Crane Cam Ignition System, NGK 6341 IridiumIX Spark Plugs, 5 Spd. Manual, with Marlin Crawler Short Throw Shifter, 5.29 Gears with Detroit Lockers. 35x12.5-15 BFG KM2s, ALCOA RIMs. My Daily Driver!

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-11-2016, 05:15 PM
Member Dismemberer

Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to ShowStop
Most of the rear lifts I've seen for that model seem to favor LC springs or some other heavier spring to gain lift. Not many go through the effort of 4 linking the rear unless they want to completely redo the rear suspension.

Leaf sprung front with that 85 axle should be a pretty straight forward swap into the 4runner. I'm not sure what springs you have now, but they should do fine on the 4runner. You could bastardize the springs if you need to add a leaf for more weight.