TTORA Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey there!
I finally came to my senses and sold my car and bought a truck. Its a 03 Tacoma (4x4 V6) I got for real cheap off my stepdad.

Now, can anyone point me to a good suspension guide/review, or have any suggestions? I am looking to run a pair of 33" 12.50 BFG's ASAP, and I was wondering what a good suspension lift would be? I dont want anything massive, I just want it to look clean, and work good in the toolies. Or does anyone have any suspension kits they had problems with and I should avoid?

...and sorry, I am a noob to 4x4ing so far, but is there any advantage other than price for a body lift over suspension?

Thankfull noobie,
Jesse

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hey, its me again...

Sorry to be such a noob to truck suspension, but does a lift kit keep in the rear leafs? do they have coils and struts? I know car suspension, but nothing about trucks. heh. sorry to be "that guy" but the more i read about tacos the more questions i have.

Thanks,
Jesse

·
Premium Member
838 Posts
It all depends on how much money you want to spend!!!! Most say to run 33s you will need at least 4" prolly closer to 6" of lift not to rub...however, look at my sig and youll see I am getting away with 3"...dont know why or how...but on the front you can go "cheap" and run spacers(cornfed, toytec,revtek) up to 3" (on top of the coil) and in the back you can run add-a-leaf and/or longer shackles and longer shocks...ideally, a new set of adjustable coilovers(Donahoe, Camburg, Kings, SAWS) up front will give the best ride and versatility and in the back a new custom leaf pack(deaver or alcan) will work the best, but again $$$$$$, and then you have to ask exactly what you will be doin with your truck...that will affect your decision and wallet quite a bit too...