TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to the crawler scene and know very little about the topic in general. I am reaching out to all members that could direct me in the correct direction. Hopefully I posted this in the correct section.

I have been searching for a rig and the 4 runner seems like it will fit me best, but I am flexible on what is out there. I recently found one for sale in my city but the guy just recently bought it and knows very little about it so I figured I would reach out to the TTORA experts. I will try and provide as much as information as I can and all the pictures I have. I am looking for feedback if this is a solid build, if they used the correct combination of parts, if its a bad idea, etc. Maybe someone knows who built it as well.

I understand that there are many different ways to do things and many different axles and combinations out there so all the advice/information and tips would be greatly appreciated. I am mechanically incline and know my way around the tool box, but the ideal way to build a crawler is still fuzzy to me.

For my first Rig I think this would be a good starter and foundation to build off of.

Here is the ad word for word so everyone can form their opinion:
--------------------------------------------------------------
1992 Toyota 4runner
Power windows with power rear window and sunroof all work
Power door locks
tilt steering
Automatic V6 3.0
Interior in great shape
AC works great
CD player

Straight axle swap
37" Tires in good condition with spare
Bead lock rims
Warn xd9000 winch
On-board air compressor
30 spline chromoly axles
TRD diff locks front & rear
CB Radio
Hitch
Stainless steel threaded brake lines
Under mounted rock lights
Hid front lights

New brake rotors and calipers less than 30 miles on them
New front wheel bearings and complete axle seal kit front and rear all with less than 30 miles (have receipts)