TTORA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 99 Tacoma 2.7 5 Spd. Im going to put a dual exhaust on and was debating between a regular flowmaster 40 and a Magna flow 18". Which would sound the best? :welder:

·
Banned
598 Posts
why dual? may hurt peformance (it will).

you want to keep the exhaust gases hot and moving, and for a 4cyl this is done better through a single exhaust. header would be best, and i prefer pre-muffler (glasspack) into main muffler (magnaflow).

·
Registered
170 Posts
How come you would put a glasspack before a muffler? That doesn't seem like it would make any sense to me, but I'm still learning.

On a side note - I have a magnaflow 14" muffler on my 2.7L tacoma now and I love it. I think I'm going to change it would to a center/center and maybe 2.25" instead of the 2" one I have now. Something like a cat-back maybe.

I would suggest a header too. That's my next project once the money is there.

·
Banned
598 Posts
Tacoma4Life06 said:
How come you would put a glasspack before a muffler? That doesn't seem like it would make any sense to me, but I'm still learning.

On a side note - I have a magnaflow 14" muffler on my 2.7L tacoma now and I love it. I think I'm going to change it would to a center/center and maybe 2.25" instead of the 2" one I have now. Something like a cat-back maybe.

I would suggest a header too. That's my next project once the money is there.
a magnaflow alone is noisy (IMO). placing a perforated (not louvered) glasspack (aka "pre-muffler") before the main muffler makes it more quiet while not restricting. it would be best to have a true helmholtz resonator there, but none exist and a glasspack is a cheap off-the-shelf item (a walker "thrush" unit from summit is cheap).

·
Registered
363 Posts