TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

first of all im not a newbie, i hate that i've had to start all over with the new website change :(

Im looking to get opinions. Im coming up on soon getting new tires.

Well as you see in my sig. i have the dreaded 3.58 gearing :xbarf:

and of course no money to regear yet.
i know im gonna take a "hit" by going up a 33" (im currently with 265's/31" balloon tires-so it won't be a BIG hit like coming from 29's) but im really wanting to go ahead and move up to the 33's.

my question is, would it help alieve some of the "hit" by using a 10.5 as opposed to a 12.5 or does the width really NOT make much of a difference? the only real reason im even considering a 12.5 is because i can of course actually get SOME 33x12.5's cheaper than the BFG AT or MT 10.5's.

·
Registered
4,294 Posts
the 10.5 will have less rolling resistance than the 12.5 because of a smaller contact patch with the road, but i'm not sure how much of a difference it would be...it's gonna suck either way with 3.58's and a 4cyl. i hope you at least have a 5spd or your truck is gonna be a dog

·
Registered
203 Posts
First, I wouldn't do either size with 3" of lift. I'm assuming with the 3.56 gears you have the V6, you will notice power loss. Personnally I would go with 32's; less rolling resistance and power loss.

However, if you absolutely have to have 33's, then the 10.5's are a safer bet. You'll still rub at turns, speed bumps, etc. You could look into 33x9.5's, because I'm assuming you are running 15 inch rims on 7 or 6" width (stock?). I ran 33x9.5's on a bronco with 3.55 gears, but that's a different story. Another guy (with Expeditions West?) is running 235/85R16's with minimal lift, which are true 33".

Good luck, and always wear your flame suit!

·
Registered
2,130 Posts