Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How long did it take you guys per side?

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Shouldn't take longer then 1.5 hours in a driveway if you know what your doing.

Remember, while prying the axle out of the diff if it does not come out rotate it 1/3 of the way. Try prying again. It should not take the force of a gorilla to pop it out.
Im no mechanic but it looks pretty straight forward. I have one tut that I wil be using, do you have any specific tut that you would recommend?

Also, 1.5 hours per side or both?

·
Registered
1,943 Posts
Shouldn't take longer then 1.5 hours in a driveway if you know what your doing.

Remember, while prying the axle out of the diff if it does not come out rotate it 1/3 of the way. Try prying again. It should not take the force of a gorilla to pop it out.
Go to your local auto parts and rent a slide hammer with the hook style puller attachment and pick up a 5" hose clamp. Put the hook on one of the recessed flat spots on the cv and Clamp it down with the hose clamp so it cant slide off. give it a good tap with the slide hammer pops right out every time and is much easier than screwing with the pry bar

·
Premium Member
2,224 Posts
Im no mechanic but it looks pretty straight forward. I have one tut that I wil be using, do you have any specific tut that you would recommend?

Also, 1.5 hours per side or both?
It takes me 2 hours max to get both sides done completely. That's from walking out the garage to start . . . . . to the last tool is put away. The tools you'll need are: 35mm socket(axle nut), 14mm socket(lower bj bolts), pliers/screwdriver(for the cotter pin), pry bar(for the axle), and a mallet/bfh to seat the axle in the diff. Oh. . . . and cold beer waiting for you after you've completed the job. Have at it!

·
Administrator
95.5 Tacoma
18,482 Posts
We ran into problem after problem with the job, so what should have been about 2-3 hours turned into 5 hrs.

·
Registered
506 Posts