TTORA Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Iam a complete newbie to the world of offroading. my taco 2003 is stock 4x4 4cyl. 2.7L engine. and was wondering a couple of question primarily how much lift i can give it. i want the maximum lift i can get without losing too much on on road driving. i commute alot to school by using a freeway and this is my everyday vehicle.

i also want a solid lift so am opting for new 8 or 10-Deaver leaf Springs, BILSTEIN 5100 rearshocks .and 2.5" lift front coil-over shocks, and i might add a differntial drop as well. i do not want no spacers or BL, or blocks.
however i have not really researched shackles. are they recommended or not?

and finally at what lift height can i add 33's to the tacoma and will the 4cyl. be able to handle the size tires and overall lift.

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
make sure you know what gear ratio you have in your axles (talking about the ring & pinion) before going to larger tires.

You will lose power and fuel economy by running larger tires without changing/upgraded the gears in your axles.

·
Administrator
95.5 Tacoma
18,586 Posts
i also want a solid lift so am opting for new 8 or 10-Deaver leaf Springs, BILSTEIN 5100 rearshocks .and 2.5" lift front coil-over shocks, and i might add a differntial drop as well. i do not want no spacers or BL, or blocks.

and finally at what lift height can i add 33's to the tacoma and will the 4cyl. be able to handle the size tires and overall lift.
To fit 33's, your gonna need more then the 2.5" from the coilovers. You need at least 5" or so of lift over stock to fit those 33's. Either a combination of the coilovers and a body lift. Or if you dont like body lifts, then you need a drop bracket kit like Fabtech or Tuff Country.

Shackles are a good choice for the rear. 1.5" lift shackles are pretty popular and people usually combine those with new springs that add more lift or install an add-a-leaf in their exisiting leaf packs.