TTORA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I know you guys get tired of these sorts of questions, but I swear I've done some searches and haven't found any previous posts that match my situation. Can I get bonus points for being a chick and braving these forums?

So, I'm about to leave my cushy life in the city for field work (I'm a biologist) in central Florida. My beloved BMW isn't going to cut it for that sort of thing (I'm guessing there's going to be lots of sand and mud involved), so I need to get a truck. I've got plenty of experience driving 4x4's for work, and used to have an '03 taco before I moved into the city, so I know that I do want to get another Toyota truck. The question is, which one?

I'll have around 10K to spend, so that of course restricts me to older, used trucks. I'm not looking for cosmetically perfect, and can deal with some level of maintenance needs (managed to replace the radiator and water pump on the bimmer without problems, so that's about the basic ability level I've reached). However, the mechanically tougher, the better. I don't see myself messing with mods.

So, given the above, any opinions on T100's versus early Tacomas? Seems like there's some nice ones of both floating around out here on the west coast. From what I've read, both get about the same MPG (at least considering I think I need an Xtra-cab and V6).

Any words of wisdom would be appreciated!

·
Registered
483 Posts
tacoma, with good tires a/t or m/t tires and youll have no regrets.
pick your color, and put in a cd player and your set. it'll give you what you need

·
Registered
77 Posts
For 10k, I bet you could find a really nice 98-00, 4x4, x-cab tacoma in good shape

Id take a Tacoma over a T-100 but thats just me.

·
Registered
2,030 Posts