TTORA Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I'm not new to Toyotas but I am new to FJs; can someone explain how to get ATRAC on a base model FJ? All I've been able to find is that if you get the locker, you can buy a switch and have the ATRAC, too? Can someone explain further? I'll go buy one tomorrow if that's true! (Well, I'll buy one on April 3rd - I can explain later) Thanks.

·
Registered
306 Posts
Yeah it is kinda neat how toyota in their lean manufacturing ways, to cut costs decided to wire up all the FJ's with the e-locker with the Atrac. If you don't buy the upgrade package (I didn't) all you have to do is pop out the appropriate plate on the panel, hook the little A-trac wiring plug into the $40 switch, pop in the switch, and Voila! A-trac! It takes literally 2 min and is the best mod I have ever done to the FJ...(and I have a lift, tires, bumper, winch, etc. etc.)

Hope this helps!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, it helps tremendously... you just saved me several thousand dollars! (And, you're the first person I've seen on the internet spell "Voila" right!)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hmmm, that brings up another question for me then, and that is I thought the newer ones were already coming wired up that way?

Warranty? We don't need no stinkin' warranty... Well, maybe we do :)

·
Registered
42 Posts
There are reports that the newer FJ's do have the ATRAC + rear locker mod already enabled. Once you get the switch, you can try it yourself and verify it. If not, the mod to get both activated is very easy and a valuable mod IMHO, one that I have used several times.

·
Registered
4,141 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts