TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Registered
473 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As some of you know, I'm getting ready to convert my 2002 Double Cab PreRunner from auto->manual and 2wd->4wd. (SafetyDang's conversion thread; I come in around page 3.)

For my conversion I plan on swapping my 2002 auto ECU for the 2002 manual ECU. As part of the research, I thought it would be a good idea to compile a list of the wiring differences between the two ECUs. Since I push data around for a living, I took the wiring info from the factory wiring diagrams and the ECU terminal chart and built a simple database to compile this into a table that shows the automatic and manual ECU wiring side by side.

I think it turned out pretty well, although since I haven't reached this part of my conversion yet I can't say with certainty how accurate it is, except that it's as accurate as the data I had available from the factory wiring manual. Anyway, at this point I have a template for doing this, and given the appropriate starting data, it isn't too hard to make similar tables for other auto->manual conversions.

To test this last part, I asked Yotaoffroad27 to send me the wiring diagrams for his 1999 3RZ PreRunner auto->manual conversion, which resulted in this table, similar to my original.

So at this point, I think my template is reasonably solid, and since I appreciate all of the help I've received so far on my own conversions I'd like to give a little back in the form of generating similar tables for other 'Early Tacoma' auto->manual conversions. I don't know if we can cover all of the Early Tacoma years and engines, and I don't want to make this offer so open-ended that I am doing this forever, but maybe I can knock a few of these out now before I start seriously wrenching on my own project in a few weeks.

What I need if you want me to do this for you: