TTORA Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats going on! I went offroading a few weeks ago and afterwards I have been hearing a rattling sound comming from under the truck. It sounds like a baseball card in bike spokes. The weird thing is that it only happens when I first start up the truck and seems to go away by the time I hit third gear on my way out my neighborhood. It also does not happen everyday. My truck is bone stock and I was just wandering what this noise can be.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well it was extremely rocky terrain and my truck was doing a lot of bouncing around. It seems to run fine though.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
why would it only make the sound some of the time?

·
Registered
3,564 Posts
I dunno, but my guess its in the exaust. When its cold itll make noise..when It warms up everything expands.....Im no expert though. ask one of the know it alls when they chime in;)

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks for your input buddy!! I think your on to something because is does seem to make noise when it is a cold morning.

·
Registered
401 Posts
Could be a loose skidplate, i had that problem too, whenever i started the truck, or closed the doors it would rattle...might be the problem, might not be!

·
Registered
5,124 Posts
check for loose heat sheilds around the exhaust

·
Registered
1,730 Posts
Could even be a rock stuck in a part of the heat shield for the cat. Converter too, or possibly even bouncing around under a skidplate.

If it was in the converter and caught between the heat shield and the converter itself, it might explain the noise only happening when it's cold and then going away when it heats up(heat expansion between the converter and shield).

·
Registered
483 Posts