TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
3,748 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
EDIT:

Got the tires mounted on. They are 285/75, a step up from my last set of 265/75 Duratracs. Stopping power has decreased some as well as a change in acceleration. The tires are very quiet on road. I have yet to be able to hear any road noise from these tires. They did a static balance on the tires and seem to ride very smooth. I will report more when I drive in rainy conditions, as well as off-road capability.

Here are some pics:

I did white letters out to go for the Back to the Future look. :)

·
Registered
1,288 Posts
I have no personal experience with the Rugged Terrains T/As, so probably not what your looking for.

However, my 03 Taco did come with the BFG P265/70R16 Rugged Trail T/As, which I believe are the stock OEM tires for the TRD package, and I hated 'em. Because they never seemed to wear even, and thats with doing several alignments and rotations. They had almost zero traction in the snow or when the streets got wet, with 25% of the tread left.

When they wore out I went with the BFG All-Terrains. I had the BFG ATs on my first yota and loved 'em. I thought they were great in the snow, on wet streets, and did well off road too.

Long story short, if it were me I'd go with the BFG ATs if you want a good All Season-On/Off Road tire. But its your $ and your truck. :2cents:

·
Registered
236 Posts
The Rugged Trails are complete garbage but not sure on the Rugged Terrains. My guess is it's a new tread and name to abandon the stigma of the trails. Just a guess, though. With the trails I got so many flats it's not even funny. I'd go for an all terrain over those if you ever plan of going off road. Sidewall protection is one of the most important things I now look for in tires.

Why are you going away from the duratracs?

·
Registered
3,748 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sidewall protection is one of the most important things I now look for in tires.