TTORA Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Putting on longer rear line, any pictures of rear brake bleeder? Never done it. I'm a newbie, but not neutered yet!

Pictures and instructions please!

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
Welcome to the world of automotive repair, do yourself a favor and get a Haynes/Chilton's repair manual or Toyota Factory Service Manual.

Bleeding brakes is something that should be done every two years or so to remove contaminated brake fluid. DOT 3 or DOT 4 brake fluid (the kind that's probably in your car's system) is hygroscopic, that is, it absorbs water. The brake lines, master and slave cylinders and fittings on your brake system are made of steel. These will rust in time if exposed to water, setting the stage for catastrophic brake failure. Water will also boil if the brake cylinder gets hot enough, causing brake loss just when you most need the brakes.

Brake fluid should be replaced by bleeding at least once every two years. The process of bleeding your brakes is rather straight forward, and can be done by the average home mechanic with a few tools and one assistant. The job involves opening fittings on the calipers or drums called bleeder screws and pumping the bubbles out of the lines. You do this by pushing on the brake pedal and using it as a pump.

Top off the master cylinder reservoir with new fluid. Caution: Brake fluid is an excellent paint stripper. It will destroy your paint job so don't spill any. If you do, wipe it up immediately.