TTORA Forum banner

Have you seen a truck break because it was in 4WD on pavement?

• No, I've never actualy seen a good truck break because it was in 4WD on pavement.

Votes: 39 73.6%
  • Yes, I saw one break, but it was a beater POS.

Votes: 1 1.9%
  • Yes, I have seen a perfectly good truck break in 4WD on pavement

Votes: 7 13.2%
  • Toyotas break?

Votes: 6 11.3%
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
2,903 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was reading the 2lo thread, and it got me to thinking.

I've seen it posted many times in numerous different threads where people say "Don't use 4WD on pavement! It will break your stuff!".

Well, I was a total noob when I bought this truck two years ago, and as much as I hate to admit it... I've done it.

I have pulled out onto the pavement and forgotten to go back to 2WD.

Yes, it got in a pretty serious bind. But it didn't break.

To tell the truth, it didn't feel like all that much of a bind, either. It certainly wasn't as much pressure on those driveline parts as I can easily do by just stepping on the gas.

So I've kinda got my doubts.

I don't believe you can break a perfectly good truck by simply putting it in 4WD and driving it on pavement.

So, here's the poll-

Have you seen WITH YOUR OWN TWO EYES a truck that was in good running condition break because it was in 4wd on pavement?

No rumors or hearsay allowed, guys. You gott be right there watching it happen, or at the wheel driving.

I'm not talking about some tore down old beater that's going to break regardless of where it is, I'm talking about a truck that's in good working condition. One that you would take on a run and expect it to come home under it's own power.

·
Registered
206 Posts
My Dad once drove his 4wd Tundra home from a trail in 4HI on the highway (100 mi). Didn't do a thing. BUT, I still wouldn't do it. I don't even like to keep my 4Runner in 4HI all the time in snow.

·
Registered
217 Posts