TTORA Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone know what a good CAD software program is for designing a suspension system? I planning on building a 3-link on an 05 Tacoma and was wondering what techniques others have used to do this. Any examples would be appreciated.

·
Registered
138 Posts
I have experience with AutoCAD, Inventor, and SolidEdge. All are easy. all are pricey unless you can find them online some where. (isn't that hard...)

Sketch-up is a free 3d program available online.

·
Registered
2,789 Posts
I've been using AutoCad for a few years now with work and just for fun. It's easy to use, and you can do practically anything with it. but it does get pricey unless you can find a ways to get it online

·
Registered
532 Posts
there are free alternatives out there. i cant think of any at the moment but just surf the cad and engineering boards and you are bound to find one.

·
Registered
6,892 Posts
well solid works would be a good one for the modeling - easy to learn and good motion capabilities but expensive. There are dedicated cad programs made for suspension design I'm just not familiar with them. Here are a couple of pics from Pro-E when I was mocking up a 4-link for my truck

·
Registered
53 Posts
you can get a 30-day trial version from www.autodesk.com for Autocad 2007, or 2008...whichever one they are offering the free trial too. But sketchup is another good program for just some light cad stuff. AutoCad offers 3d modeling also, however Inventor, solidworks or Pro-E may be a better choice. If you just want something free, you could use sketcup, and if you think you can have it done in under 30 days, you can do the autocad free trial. And like Ryanstoy said, you can find the CAD programs for free if you look for them, however, I am not going to suggest it or not suggest it, because that is your risk to take. When you get done post some screen shots for us to check out! Good luck!

·
Premium Member