TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's the proper method for disconnecting the fuel filter from the fuel lines when changing the filter?

I attempted this today, but I held off because I couldn't find a way to get the filter out from between the lines without potentially bending the lines. They have to come out about 1/2 inch on each side of the filter, but the metal lines don't have that much play in them.

This is on a 2000 Tacoma with the filter monted on the inside of the frame rails at about mid-chassis.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Just go ahead and gently bend them out of the way. Be sure to use a line wrench on those fittings- they're tight from the factory and round off easily if you're using a regular open-ended wrench.

The lines will go right back into place if you're careful when re-installing the new filter. I change 'em all the time like this at work ( I'm a master tech at a Toyota Dealership) and haven't had a problem yet...

Ryan

·
Registered
663 Posts
This is a 2.7, isn't it? Yes, it is a major pain in the ass to change. I don't know any easy way to do it but somebody else may know. I'll be watching this thread cause I want to know... :xpopcorn2

Oh, and you might want to do a search to see what else turns up... :2cents:

·
Registered
584 Posts
When I did mine on my 98 (should be the same), I removed a few of the clamps holding the lines to the frame rails so the line could flex enough to get them out of the filter. It is a tight fit but you can do it. Dont worry about flexing the lines a little bit, just do not go animal on them and bend them. Thats when you run into problems.

-AJ

·
Big tars, little bed.
8,407 Posts
meithkiller said:
This is a 2.7, isn't it? Yes, it is a major pain in the ass to change. I don't know any easy way to do it but somebody else may know. I'll be watching this thread cause I want to know... :xpopcorn2