TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,388 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So right now I'm piecing a sound system together and think I'm headed in the right direction but really have no clue since I'm new to the stereo gig. Here is what I have so far and what I plan on getting. I'm really just wondering how all of this will go together :D

Head unit: Pioneer DEH-4500MP (or was it 4600MP?)
Speakers: Polk DB650 6.5's all around
Sub: JL 12W3D4 (not installed yet)

For the amp I was just going to go cheap and get a Diesel audio 175Wx4ch amp for 100 bucks or so from Fry's. Bridge 2 channels to the sub (350 watts) and the other 2 channels to the 2 rear speakers (175 each). Unfortunately they are sold out on those so I might have to go another route.

As for the sub box, I'm not sure what to do. I've found some cheap sealed boxes on ebay that are the right cu. ft. for my sub (about 1.25 cu. ft.) and am a little weary of the quality but don't want to spend a bunch of money. Here is what I found...any experience with this stuff?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...MEWA:IT&viewitem=&item=300114674638&rd=1&rd=1

I'm really just looking for some better sound. I don't really listen to music loud unless it sounds good. Just recently I fixed the fucked up job Circuit City did putting my speakers in with some nice adapters that utilized all the screw holes :rolleyes: After installing those, it sounds MUCH better than before but I think it can be better with a little thump :D

Anyway, no more rambling. Let me know what you think :D Thanks

·
Premium Member
12,213 Posts
Brain,

If you still are interested, my offer for the sub box still stands on the table. Just pay for materials and a little extra for me and my buddy to make it and carpet it.

175 per speaker sounds a little steep. I would double check the specs on the speaker.

·
Premium Member
3,388 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Brain,