TTORA Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a real problem. I'm a total noob without much experience or tools. It get's worse. I'm trying to drive and maintain a nice first gen. Tacoma in Sacto, a city I am new to.

My front CV's need to be changed. I've got the new axles, just not the experience, tools, or place to do the work.

Can someone recommend a shop to change these, in Sac., that won't give me my truck back with it driving crooked?

I don't want to just pick a place out of a hat.

Or if one of you guys wants some weekend work, let me know!!

Give a noob a break. Thanks.

·
Going John Galt
31,839 Posts
I've got a real problem. I'm a total noob without much experience or tools. It get's worse. I'm trying to drive and maintain a nice first gen. Tacoma in Sacto, a city I am new to.

My front CV's need to be changed. I've got the new axles, just not the experience, tools, or place to do the work.

Can someone recommend a shop to change these, in Sac., that won't give me my truck back with it driving crooked?

I don't want to just pick a place out of a hat.

Or if one of you guys wants some weekend work, let me know!!

Give a noob a break. Thanks.
got any week days to play with?
my weekends are booked :p
east bay, about an hr west on 80 from Sac.

they are easy to change
http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/maintenance/cv_axle/

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This week, I could probably come out tomorrow or Wednesday. Were you thinking daytime or evening.

I know they're not too complicated to do, but the trucks my daily driver and I wouldn't want to make a noob mistake and strand myself. And I don't have the space or tools.

·
Registered
3,205 Posts
Once you do it you'll realize how easy it is. I was nervous, as mine is a DD too. All I needed to buy was the big socket.

Nice to have an experienced person like Hytenor to help though. Make sure to bring some sort of compensation for the favor.