TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting ready to lift my truck in the near future, and I've got all the components picked out...except for one thing. I'd really like to do the rear shock relo, but I've heard that it can really sag if the truck is used for towing. I'm not planning on anything heavy, just a 6x10 enclosed trailer for my motorcycle and other junk occasionally. So I guess I have 3 questions:

1. How bad will the rear sink with a trailer on it?

2. How difficult would it be to yank out the relo's and put in the stock mounting shocks (I know, I'll have to keep an extra pair of shocks handy) when I need to tow something?

3. What size shocks will I need to use with the 1.5" Deaver leafpack(I saw a post from TBob saying 11" travel)?

I'm pretty new to the suspension world...so I'm having a hard time deciding which avenue to go down. Also, here's the list of components I'm planning on:

From Wheeler's:
2.5" SAW's
1.5" Deaver leafpack
extended brake lines
u-bolt flip kit
15" type-a wheels running 32x11.50's
Plus- a bunch of armor to scratch, dent, or otherwise mangle

Comment, questions, concerns? Thanks for any suggestions!

·
Registered
6,892 Posts
oh and in answer to your question - relo the shock won't make your suspension sag when pulling a trailer - I would recommend the 9 pack deavers

·
Registered
1,330 Posts
Shock relocation won't make your truck more prone to sagging. Leaf Springs are what holds your truck up. Shocks act as a damper to help keep the tires on the road and help keep body sway/roll to a minimum.

Look into heavier duty springs if you're worried about them sagging.

~Miguel

EDIT: Dang, people got to it first.

·
Premium Member
3,442 Posts
Good luck with any type of load on Deavers (unless built by them to do so). I don't see the relation with a shock relo to carrying a load or towing. As for the length of shock, I would say that you should be safe with a 10"-11".