TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 152 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I've been working on my truck for a couple years. Back in 2007 I found myself with some free time and cash and with the option to invest safely or blow it all on a truck, I chose to blow it all on a truck. In light of the economy since then, this has turned out to be a wise choice.

I had always had the dream of starting something from scratch and taking it to a completed project in a short time. Well, as we all know, there is no such thing as a finished project, so this will be a history tale of what it has taken to get my project to where it is, and then updates as I continue.

To start with, this will look like a solid axle build (I'll gloss over those details) but it's necessary to show where my truck has been. It eventually ends up long travel IFS.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #2

This is how I received my truck. I'll call it a truck because it has become much more than an SUV, but yes, it's a 4runner.

You'll notice some rust on the bumper. Word to the wise, don't buy project vehicles on eBay from the North East. :doh:

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

Got it home and starting the fun dismantling part. As previously mentioned, but in the North East where they salt the roads. I grew up in Colorado so this possibility never occurred to me. I had inspected it before I took possession, with thoughts of cutting it all of anyways. But now three years later I still find bolts that are seized and they just break off. :mad:

Useless IFS (so I thought). I was young and immature, and took this to be recycled instead of selling or retaining it.

I was going to do both front and rear at the same time. A lot of work. My garage is sparse. I pretty much had no tools when I first started, and bought a lot of tools along the way. That was really part of project, finding the right tools to buy.

Rusty rear axle. Had big plans for it. Got it sand blasted.