TTORA Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all -

My name is Paul. I was introduced to the site by user Rob, NorCalTaco. I'm new to wheeling, but I've got some experience on pretty mild trails, both as a soldier and then as a civilian. My last off-road rig was an M1A2 Abrams MBT, so there weren't many places I couldn't go in that thing.

These days, I run a 2005 Gen 1 Tundra AC with the TRD off-road package. It's been modified with overlanding in mind, and not really crawling. I see some of the tracks and trails you all take and they're a bit outside the realm of what I like to do, but I see tons of opportunities to learn from you guys, so that's why I'm here.

Mods to the truck include:

Addicted Offroad tube bumper
Stubbs Welding HD-SKO sliders
All Pro Off-road bed cage/rooftop tent rack
Bilstein 5100's on all four corners
Camburg Upper Control Arms w/ Uniball joints
OME 886 springs up front
Firestone Ride-Rite Airbags in the rear
Daystar airbag cradles
Smittybilt X20 10,000# winch
Pro Comp 16" steelies with 4" backspacing wrapped in 285/75 Nitto Terra Grapplers
ARB Simpson III rooftop tent
Rhino Rack Sunseeker II awning

Radio stuff:
Yaesu FT-8800/R 2m/70cm ham radio
Comet SBB2NMO dual band 1/4 wave antenna with RG-58 feedline

I'm also a relatively new ham, which is something I didn't think I'd be doing. 2m is a great band for trail comms, and as it turns out, it's just a fun hobby overall.

Anyway, that's enough about me. I'll crosspost my build thread from Expedition Portal over to here, and maybe I can get some constructive criticism on the things that I've done, and maybe you all can give me some more ideas on how to turn money into dirty, delicious forward momentum.

-Paul

Here's a picture of the rig on the Mojave Trail back in March '14. Made a few changes since then as a result of the shortcomings I discovered on that trip.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3