TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On my truck I used to have a magnaflow muffler on the stock piping and I got 325 out of a full tank on a road trip. Now that I have my one chamber flowmaster with 3" piping from the o2 sensor back and I took the same road trip and i barley saw 280 out of a full tank. Would me changing the exhaust effect my mileage?

·
Banned
966 Posts
stucktaco said:
somebody told me it has something to do with back pressure?
yes, but probaly youre thinking the smaller pipe had more backpressure? going to 3" exhaust allows the exhaust gases to expand and cool much faster than it did in the smaller tubing. this creates "head front" which makes it harder for the gases to travel out.

talk to Vince at Burns Stainless in CA, he'll give you the skinny. or search google for "exhaust bigger is not always better". if you're not pushing 300+ norm.asp. hp, and your not running a sc or turbo, then 3" pipe is way too much.

·
Registered
606 Posts
I would say it could, but not for the reasons listed above. If my numbers are right you lost about 3 mpg or so. The mystical "backpressure" thing wouldn't have that kind of impact. You say you started your pipe at the 02 sensor? It is possible that it is causing a lean reading which means your ECU is running a rich mix killing mileage.

·
Registered
1,084 Posts
EMPIRE said:
yes, but probaly youre thinking the smaller pipe had more backpressure? going to 3" exhaust allows the exhaust gases to expand and cool much faster than it did in the smaller tubing. this creates "head front" which makes it harder for the gases to travel out.

talk to Vince at Burns Stainless in CA, he'll give you the skinny. or search google for "exhaust bigger is not always better". if you're not pushing 300+ norm.asp. hp, and your not running a sc or turbo, then 3" pipe is way too much.
remember this...

·
Banned
966 Posts